top of page
Writer's pictureTyisha Blade

East Cleveland Firefighters Share Their Passion for Saving Lives


Courtesy Photos: ECFD Social Media

Written By: Tyisha Blade


The East Cleveland Firefighters IAFF Local 500 are committed to protecting the lives and property of the city. Whether they are putting out fires, rescuing occupants from burning buildings or treating injured people in the streets, they dedicate their lives to the well-being of the community they serve. David Worley is the Chief of Fire and Emergency Medical Services (EMS) for the City of East Cleveland. He has been with the fire department for more than 20 years. Chief Worley grew up in East Cleveland attending Rozelle Elementary School, Kirk Middle School and Shaw High School. During an interview, the chief attested to his love for the city and his inspirations for continuing the work he does.

“Knowing that the citizens [of East Cleveland] are a part of my family keeps me motivated. I love the job and the guys I work with,” he said. “We have a great camaraderie. We’ve truly become a family in the fire service.” The chief adds that some of the most rewarding moments are being able to watch firefighters grow in service and remain with the profession. “I also like helping people,” Chief Worley noted. “Before I came into the office and I was out ‘in the streets’...I was able to be there for people in their darkest times.”


B-Shift Extrication training


Lieutenant Jonathan Isaac began working with the East Cleveland Fire Department in 2019. He was recently promoted to his current position in March 2023. Isaac said he grew up with a family of firefighters; his father and two of his uncles all worked in fire service. “I’ve wanted to be a firefighter since I was a kid,” he said. “Later in my life, I felt a calling. Then, I fell in love with the job and couldn’t be happier with it.” Isaac said he wanted to come to a [fire department] where he felt there was a purpose for his life. “East Cleveland gave me an opportunity to be here and it’s been a very rewarding career so far,” he said.

The newly-promoted lieutenant also mentioned his current role has shown him several learning experiences, both at the job and in life. He said one of the biggest lessons that he has learned as a firefighter is how fragile life can be. “You have to make the most of each day,” he said. “One of the greatest feelings I’ve had in my life has been when making a real save. When you make a real save and your actions make a difference in someone's outcome…It’s one of the best things you could possibly do.”

FF Shawn Robinson; David Worley, Chief of Fire and EMS; Tyisha Blade ECM, Editor-in-Chief; Lt. Johnathan Isaac; FF Nick Klump

0 views

Comments


bottom of page